Book Now
Visit our FacebookVisit our Instagram
Social Media

A Guide To The 7 Chakras

The chakras are the seven energy centres within our bodies that help regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. Imagine them as spinning discs of energy that should ideally stay open and aligned, as they each work in unison to provide the right balance of energy for every part of the body, mind and spirit. They each have their own symbol, colour and meaning.

Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is located at the base of your spine and is connected with being grounded, our connection with the Earth and our basic physical needs (food, shelter etc.). When all is well with this chakra you will feel calm, stable and comfortable with your life.

The Root Chakra can quickly become blocked if anything in your life doesn’t feel secure i.e. if you’re worried about a basic need (such as money or physical safety). This is the case even if the threat is perceived (e.g. due to anxiety).

Yoga poses to assist:

  • Sukasana (Easy pose)
  • Vriksasana (Tree pose)
  • Garudasana (Eagle pose)

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is the Sacral Chakra, located just below the navel. It is associated with pleasure, fully experiencing emotions and creativity. When all is well with this chakra we are able to feel pleasure, take joy in life, are accepting of change and are happy with our sexuality.

When the Sacral Chakra is imbalanced or underactive we may experience a lack of appetite, be emotionally distant, feel a sense of isolation or lack of control.

Yoga poses to assist:

  • Utkata Konasana (Goddess pose)
  • Virabhadrasana (Warrior II)
  • Supta Baddha Konasana (Reclined Bound Angle pose)

Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra is the Manipura Chakra, also known as the Solar Plexus Chakra. It is located in the upper stomach between the navel and the breastbone.

It is associated with personal power, sense of purpose, setting goals and boundaries and psychic ability.

When this chakra is out of balance you may struggle to make decisions, have a lack of direction or be afraid to challenge yourself.

Yoga poses to assist:

  • Utkatasana (chair pose)
  • Parvritta Trikonasana (revolved triangle pose)
  • Dhanurasana (bow pose)

Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is the Heart Chakra and is located in the middle of the spine at heart level.

It is associated with love, balance, connection and helps to shape our abilities for compassion, empathy, trust and love.

When this chakra is out of balance you may have difficulty trusting others, a low sense of self or experiences feelings of jealousy or a lack of self-independence.

Yoga poses to assist:

  • Setu Bandhasana (Bridge pose)
  • Purvottasana (Reverse plank)
  • Matsyasana (Fish pose)

Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is the Throat Chakra, located in the pit of the throat near the spine. It is responsible for communication, self-expression and the ability to speak your truth.

If the Throat Chakra is blocked or out of balance you may not feel secure within yourself, have a harder time expressing your thoughts or feel anxious about speaking or communicating.

Yoga poses to assist:

  • Head rolls
  • Bitilasana Marjaryasana (Cat / Cow)
  • Ustrasana (Camel pose)

Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is the Third Eye Chakra, located in the forehead between the eyebrows and is associated with intuition, higher purpose and psychic abilities.

When this chakra is out of balance you may struggle to have faith in your broader purpose or be present in the moment. You may have trouble sleeping, feel clumsy and struggle to learn new things.

Yoga poses to assist:

  • Balasana (Child's pose)
  • Nadi Shodhana (Alternate Nostril Breathing)
  • Makarasana (Dolphin pose)

Crown Chakra

The seventh and highest chakra is the Crown Chakra which is located at the top of our heads. It is associated with our connection to the Divine, the universe and our spiritual nature.

When this chakra is out of balance you may feel a disconnection to spiritual matters, close-minded to new concepts or appear too rigid in what we believe.

Yoga poses to assist:

  • Padmasana (Lotus Pose)
  • Halasana (Plow pose)
  • Paschimottanasana (Seated Forward Bend)

Moontree Blog

Our Thoughts & Musings

Peek Inside our Women's Winter Wellness Retreat

Our Women's Winter Wellness Retreat was amazing!

Read more ›

Introducing.... Moontree Kids Yoga!

We are so excited to bring children's yoga to Moontree! Introducing... Moontree Kids!

Read more ›

Do you adore your pelvic floor?

"Yes yes, I know I know. I’ll do my pelvic floor exercises, I will. Tomorrow I’ll start and I’ll do them every day…" Sound familiar?

Read more ›

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Upcoming Classes, Freebies and All Things Moontree

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
cartchevron-down linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram